• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

MrButler_1

16V Unmodified Intake Vs Single Carb Unrestricted

MrButler_1

Hi everyone, first post so apologies in advance for my lack of technical knowledge but I'm really struggling to get my head round something so I hope I might be able to get some insight here with the help of some experienced people.

I have zero practical experience, just a lot of internet research time and a thirst for knowledge and I'm embarking with a mate into a bit of casual motorsport, predominantly road rallying and some hillclimbs etc.

We haven't got the car yet as we're researching what's going to best for our needs first so that we have a solid plan but we've whittled our choice down for now to either a 205 or perhaps a 106 so exploring the options in further detail, and looking to get the maximum tunability/power within the regs.

Road rally regs state:

SOHC ONLY unless engine was originally a fuel injection and the F.I. including plenum and T.B. remains unmodified. (So you can have 16V but can't modify the intake)

FUEL INJECTION not permitted unless it was original to the engine and remains unmodified as above (so you can have F.I. but can't modify the intake and therefore cannot for example put a 16V head on an 8V engine)

MAX 2 CHOKES - either 2 single or 1 double so no twin 40's etc.