• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

kyepan

How Not To Modify Your 205's Suspension...

kyepan

So... i'm bored and stuck inside with a bad leg... and just read through a suspension geometry article or 4.. it is quite enlightening.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

This has me thinking about why why my conservatively lowered 205 car is misbehaves so much under braking, acceleration, and especially down uneven or steeply crowned lanes and uneven roads. Granted it turns in well, and mid corner sticks like poo to a blanket, but even then it feels nervous. I'm no expert but what they are saying does make sense, and when you combine all the factors together it really does make me feel a bit silly. If you can't be arsed to read the whole post, in a nutshell, lowering a standard car without making changes to counter act the knock on effect upon it's geometry has essentially made it unstable, together with neutral toe and a number of other factors. Our mcphereson strut suspension and trailing arms seems very sensitive to lowering...and i think i've done too much, and without sounding controversial... if what i've done is too much... then the generally accepted common lowering ammount may mean the majority of lowered 205's are also not working to their optimum

Up until now my understanding was the the following:

Lower the center of gravity by lowering the front and rear of the car

Reduce the body roll by fitting stiffer anti roll bars

Reduce the body roll by fitting stiffer springs

Up the damping considerably to critically damp the springs for their length and stiffness

use negative camber front and rear to keep the tyre flat when the car and consequently wheel rolls over in the corner

Use neutral toe at the front to give a more direct steering feel, and reduce the dead zone.

Run reasonably low tyre pressures (32f/30r)