Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Berlingo Beam, Rear Discs Etc

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

MattD

MattD
  • Drivers
  • 21 posts
  • Name:Matt
Hi there,

Newbie here.

I am after some information, that you lot may be able to help me with.

I'm building a track car, it's not a 405, it's not even PSA, but I am using a torsion rear beam.

I've just got hold of a Berlingo rear beam from the scrap yard, I've gone for this beam as the track width is 1500 so 20mm over the existing setup that it is replacing.

It's drum brakes however. I'm sure they're OK to use but if it is possible I'd much rather have discs on the back.

Do any of you know what parts I may be able to raid from a scrap yard in order to convert? Finding an Mi16 in a yard is near on impossible.

For example, will stub pins and all the other associated parts from an XSi or HDi beam fit? Or do I seriously have to get an mi16 beam just for the disc conversion?

Many thanks in advance

Matt

Jer309GTi

Jer309GTi
  • Drivers
  • 889 posts
  • Name:Jeremy
Rear disc brakes on 405's are the same as far as I know, also you could look out for a Berlingo/Partner with ABS as these should have discs on the back too. 306 brakes could even work on the back, but that is just a guess

MattD

MattD
  • Drivers
  • 21 posts
Hi

Thanks for the reply. Not having knowledge of PSA vehicles, did other 405's come with disc brakes other than the Mi16?

Berlingo with ABS? This beam has ABS, I was not aware of any berlingos with discs, except the newer models with simple beams.

Cheers

Jer309GTi

Jer309GTi
  • Drivers
  • 889 posts