• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Daviewonder

Dkz Questions.

Daviewonder

Hello Chaps.

Excuse the questions but I have no experience with cat equipped 205s.

I've just been over to a friends to have a look at a black 205 GTI that he's bought. It's a 1991 1.9 with a DKZ engine and Motronic management. It's having a few running issues and the woman who he bought it off said it had never run right all the time she owned it.

Now it no longer has a Lambda sensor (or anywhere to put one) Would this affect the idle, running or both?

The throttle body looks the same as a normal GTI, with an adjustable idle (although this didn't seem to adjust anything) Is this the right throttle body for the engine? I read somewhere that some had twin butterflies?

The engine code matches the chassis number, which is good but what was the reason of putting a cat on a 1991 vehicle? Was it an import? What was the market for this?

Also it has a stainless pipe that appears from under the floor and ends up behind the battery. It looks like it's been capped off. Any idea what this is?

Thanks in advance, Dave.

Mikey S

Having no lambda sensor will affect how it's being fuelled, so yes it will affect performance somewhat. I'd be looking to get one back in it. Is the management light still working on the dash? (Top right of the dash display). I would be pulling the fault codes out of it if the management light is still working and go from there.

Catalysts were an optional extra from around 1991, quite why anyone would specify it is beyond me.

Can't help with the pipe though, any photos?

Mike

Edited by Mikey S

DamirGTI

All 1.9 dkz engines had catalyst as standard (at least here in EU) and not having one will fail the MOT