• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

christopher

Problem Bleeding Brakes

christopher

Guys,

I seem to have a problem bleeding my brakes on my Euro Rallye. The standard euro rallye has the same setup as a 1.6 GTi. However I have a 1.9 GTI rear beam with discs fitted. I have kept the compensator in the engine bay.

I have a new master cylinder and servo fitted.

• One of the calipers (rear right, as seen from the back) doesn't seem to bleed easliy.
  • When I do an eazy bleed nothing comes out at all
  • When I do the two man method I need to use a lot of pressure to get fluid out, and there comes air out sometime

When I do the manual method am I supposed to push the pedal completely to the floor so it touches the floor?

When I have forced it to the floor I did get some black bits in the fluid and Am a bit worried i damaged the seals now..

I bled the sequence.

• Front left
  • Front right
  • rear left
  • rear right

Does this matter at all?

Going a bit insane over this..

Could it be the connections on top of the rear beam?

jackherer

If it only has the single compensator setup and one side is reluctant it has to be a blockage and this is backed up by the bits you've seen. How old are the hoses going to the bad caliper? They can break down internally and block flow and even act as one way valves in some circumstances, i.e. the brakes are held on after the pedal is released!

christopher

If it only has the single compensator setup and one side is reluctant it has to be a blockage and this is backed up by the bits you've seen. How old are the hoses going to the bad caliper? They can break down internally and block flow and even act as one way valves in some circumstances, i.e. the brakes are held on after the pedal is released!

The rear hoses are ancient :-(