• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Matt180

[project] 205 Gti 180 Track Car

Matt180

Hi guys

I thought it was time i started a project thread and made myself known on here. Not really a big poster on forums as i dont get chance, ill try and make more time!

I have been doing track days for 6 years now starting off with a s1 106 xsi with a 16v engine fitted. A few years past and i wanted more power so decided to supercharged it. I spent the best part of 2 years building the car to the spec i wanted.

The xsi

10624_186570663988_560928988_4017082_3432606_n.jpg

Half way through the build i also bought this

n560928988_1076487_2252.jpg

The car was built by a mate with my help a few years previous to my project. He managed to find a fully track prepped shell that only needed an engine. He didn't want to go down the old mi/gti-6 route because he wanted something different. In the end decided on a 206 GTI 180 (EW10J4S) engine and found 1 that had covered only 500 miles when lifted from the 206. Im fairly certain it was the first 205 with this engine fitted, we contacted various peugeot tuning companies for info and all said it couldn't be done. To start with we had it running on the standard ecu and multiplex wiring which wasn't ideal. We then ditched that and ran it on a omex 100 and carbs (yes thats an engine with variable valve timing and carbs :D ) It produced a healthy 197 bhp and 155lb/ft, we were over the moon. The smiles soon wore off so its back in the garage for cams, TB's and omex 500. This next setup made 202bhp and 161 lb/ft, not much gain for the money spent but it drove so much better and idled like a standard car.