Jump to content

Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
 
 

6 Speed Box On 1.9 Mi16 Engine?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Guest_p whack_*

Guest_p whack_*
  • Guests
Joined: --
is this possible to do? also will this engine and loom fit easily into a 306?? as i am thinking of putting one in

#2
Miles

Miles
  • Pitcrew+
  • 11,683 posts
Joined: 27 Nov 2002
  • Name:Miles
  • Location:Fordingbridge, Hants
Garage View Garage
Yes it's a BE box, Engine will fit the 306 but you might get the reverse of fitting the Iron block engine in the 205 with subframe clearance issue's with the exhaust

#3
weejimmy

weejimmy
  • Drivers
  • 543 posts
Joined: 21 Jan 2008
  • Location:Edinburgh, Scotland
and for a road car you need a cat for mot which mi dosent run with.
or not easily
i think

#4
Guest_p whack_*

Guest_p whack_*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Yes it's a BE box, Engine will fit the 306 but you might get the reverse of fitting the Iron block engine in the 205 with subframe clearance issue's with the exhaust


do you mean their will not be enough space? what does the standard manifold look like? is it a cast iron tiem? should be able to sort a cat out as i have one already and i am getting a custom exhaust made for it

#5
weejimmy

weejimmy
  • Drivers
  • 543 posts
Joined: 21 Jan 2008
  • Location:Edinburgh, Scotland
i mean as far as im aware the alloy mi16 never came with a cat so can not run properly with one in place.
mite be wrong but worth looking into.

but for a 306 id go gti-6 any way

#6
Bakes100

Bakes100
  • Drivers
  • 285 posts
Joined: 13 Nov 2007
  • Name:Stuart
  • Location:Colchester, Essex
Garage View Garage
If your fitting an engine from a pre-cat car and you have evidence of it you will not need to have a cat emissions test for the mot :).

#7
Miles

Miles
  • Pitcrew+
  • 11,683 posts
Joined: 27 Nov 2002
  • Name:Miles
  • Location:Fordingbridge, Hants
Garage View Garage
The engine's run fine with a CAT, just need a ECU mapped to suit, But as said if you can prove the age of the engine there is no need for a CAT
The manifold is a 8 branch steel one, not cast as on most car's, The only way to see if it will fit is try it

#8
taylorspug

taylorspug
  • Veterans
  • 2,936 posts
Joined: 07 Nov 2003
  • Name:Dan
  • Location:Sussex
Late alloy block MIs did come with a CAT, ive taken a DFW engine out of a CAT equipped 405 before. :)