• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
VisaGTi16v

Xu10j4rs Adjustable Pulleys As Standard?

VisaGTi16v

Hi, I just found a thread on a Xsara VTS forum where a couple of members are showing photos of the standard cam pulleys on the engines and explaining how you can rotate the camshafts to adjust the timing and seeing healthy performance gains. None of them have produced rolling road reports and I have very little knowledge of cam timing and all that. Could someone please take a look and see if what they are saying sounds plausible. Presumably it would bugger the emissions although they claim to have retained good idle with a 15bhp and 15ft/lb gain?

I have not read about this anywhere else and it sounds to good to be true hence my sceptism. The thread can be found here http://www.xsarasportsclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4680 If you need to be a member to view it let me know and I will paste it in here.

cheers

Darren

Xsara VTS

Visa GTi Mi16

welshpug

I get the gist, but I hadnt heard of it before.

without seeing a pulley off the cam I wouldnt say for definite though, as I thought all Petrol XU's has the cam on a woodruff key?

though its not out of the question though, cant remember offhand for the XUD, but on the VW diesel engines the cam pulley doesnt have a key and you lock the cam with a tool in the opposite end.

taylorspug

I presume they are much the same as the DW8 pulleys as found on the Berlingo/Peugeot Partner diesel engines. These are vernier pulleys as standard, and cost around £100 for a complete set of two from Peugeot.

Cheap way of getting verniers, although they dont have any markings on them in order to adjust them properly, or the hole locator type design as seen on Catcams pulleys. :o

smighall

GTI6/Xsara VTS engines do have vernier cam pulleys as standard.