• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

EricYellow

[car_upgrade] My 205 S16 With A Nice Little Garrett Thingy....

EricYellow

So....I'm Eric, I'm from The Netherlands and I've been playing with Peugeot's since about 2000.

Built myself a few 205 GTI's with turbo, a 106 GTI with turbo and a 206 GT with turbo for a friend of mine.

Also had some other cars in between, couple of Sierra Cosworths, Impreza, Nissan 300ZX TT, Sunny GTI-R etc..

But since I'm kind of stuck on the french cars (worked as a Peugeot mechanic for 13 years) I've now ended up with my 205.

I bought it with an S16 in it, 309GTI rear axle, 309GTI16 interior an EXTREMELY bad paintwork.

The car had about 3 or 4 different shades of blue, the roof had about no clear paint left, scratches on the car etc etc..

But since I'm more interested in the go-fast area I left the exterior for what it was and got started on the engine.

Somehow a Garrett GT3076R found it's way under the bonnet, together with a Vems system and a few other bits.

At start it was running on about 1,2 bar and had something like 340 bhp, the the boost got up to 1,5 bar and power was measured at 394 bhp and 423 Nm.

This was still on a road setup and not really setting the mapping to the max.

After a while I got used to the 394 bhp and got it mapped on the RR, results were a nice 466 bhp and 515 Nm.

I drove it for about 300 miles and then the gearbox snapped...the teeth of the 5th gear came of...surprise... :blush:

After a lot of finding out what to do about the gearbox I came across an ME5t box from a Citroen XM 2.0T

Fitting it was quite a b*tch but it's on, now hoping that it will hold the power better then the BE3 box..

Since the gearbox was already out I took the engine out too and decided to give the car a respray and fit all new lights, chrome strips etc..