• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
tom_xl

[car_upgrade] 205 Tu 1.1 > Gti6 Conversion

tom_xl

Hi everyone, I've been meaning to start a thread on this project for ages! I bought the car two years ago and to be honest I've not done a huge amount in that time, partly due to being at Uni away from the car and partly because I'm a poor student (sympathy please lol).

Basically I only got this car as somebody my mum knew was moving miles away and they were going to scrap it, so instead I gave them £50 for it which was a pretty good price I thought. The overall plan is to do a GTI6 conversion as from reading lots of posts on here and weighing things up I think it's the best option. The idea is to make a road legal track toy so 2 seats, roll cage, keeping the dashboard though. This probably won't end up being the most amazing conversion on here as it's being done on a bit of a budget but it's a good learning curve for me as this is my first project.

Below are some photos from the first day I got the car so you can see what I started with:

post-15124-0-64037700-1328099892_thumb.jpg

post-15124-0-92469700-1328099972_thumb.jpg

tom_xl

After deciding I didn't like the seats, or carpet, or pretty much any of the interior I decided to strip it all out! This being my first project I naively thought 'this will be easy just undo a few bolts and screws here and there'. Oh how I was wrong! After much frustration with rusty bolts etc. it was done though and here are a couple of pictures of the interior stripped out:

post-15124-0-46271500-1328100318_thumb.jpg

post-15124-0-42518200-1328100383_thumb.jpg