Jump to content

Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
 
 

Photo

Emerald Vechical Speed Sensor


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
Mr Bob

Mr Bob
  • Drivers
  • 130 posts
Joined: 13 Oct 2008
  • Location:Lanarkshire, Scotland

Hello

 

I'm looking for some help on wiring a Emerald K3 ECU, I have everything sorted except the speed sensor.

 

The ecus manual describes the use of a ABS type magnetic sensor on a toothed ring on the drive shaft, which I could use but I would like to know if the standard speed sensor in the diff casing can be used? If so how is it wired up to the k3?or is it even needed?

 

I have sent an email to emerald about it but been 2 weeks with no reply so I phoned them and they said they can only help via emails and they will try to get to mine as soon as possible but that was 3 days ago, hoping someone on here can answer my question.

 

Thanks

Bob



#2
Simes

Simes
  • Team Managers
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: 03 Jan 2003
  • Name:Simon
  • Location:Surrey
Garage View Garage
What do you want to use that sensor for?
(Aside from detecting speed).

I'm not using one by the way.
Crank sensor.
Water temp sensor.
Air temp sensor.
Throttle pot.
That's about it!

#3
Mr Bob

Mr Bob
  • Drivers
  • 130 posts
Joined: 13 Oct 2008
  • Location:Lanarkshire, Scotland

What do you want to use that sensor for?
(Aside from detecting speed).

I'm not using one by the way.
Crank sensor.
Water temp sensor.
Air temp sensor.
Throttle pot.
That's about it!

 

no idea, I'm guessing it doesn't require one then? the manual for the k3 has a section on it and the standard ECU had one so I thought I needed it? if not that's makes it simpler

 

the speedo is cable driven so doesn't need it for that but I think the ABS needs it? not sure



#4
Simes

Simes
  • Team Managers
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: 03 Jan 2003
  • Name:Simon
  • Location:Surrey
Garage View Garage
Ok, I'm not sure about abs as I don't have it. However I think it's a bit too prehistoric for the emerald.
Don't bother wiring in the fan either as the standalone system works well enough.

#5
welshpug

welshpug
  • Pitcrew+
  • 30,024 posts
Joined: 18 Aug 2006
  • Name:Mei
  • Location:Bridgend
no you wont need the vehicle soeed signal even with abs, its a separate system.

most lower level ecu's wont work with the o.e vss or abs sensors, however you can easily modify an abs ring and fit a suitable sensor if you dont have abs.

it will allow functions like launch control and in some cases boost per gear if you need

#6
Mr Bob

Mr Bob
  • Drivers
  • 130 posts
Joined: 13 Oct 2008
  • Location:Lanarkshire, Scotland

Ok, I'm not sure about abs as I don't have it. However I think it's a bit too prehistoric for the emerald.
Don't bother wiring in the fan either as the standalone system works well enough.

 

 

no you wont need the vehicle soeed signal even with abs, its a separate system.

most lower level ecu's wont work with the o.e vss or abs sensors, however you can easily modify an abs ring and fit a suitable sensor if you dont have abs.

it will allow functions like launch control and in some cases boost per gear if you need

Thanks guys the very answers I was looking for