• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
axnutty

Injection Issues - Is This Correct?

axnutty

Ive a few niggles with the injection on my new 1.9 Gti:

The ISS is wound all the way in for starters which is a bit worrying. The emissions test recorded a very low 0.67% CO, and the car hunts for idle (but does idle - ie not stall). Hot starting is a real issue, whilst cold starting its on the button, but wont idle at all.

Now Im new to injection systems, spending most of my time playing about with carbs of one sort or another. So I took it this was a good time to start learning! I have drawn out a very simplicated (and crude) injection system for the 205 as below:

Dont laugh!

Maybe someone would put me right if Ive got this wrong?!

Now the lack of cold idle is the SAD playing up Id have thought - so I shall ignore that at the moment.

The low CO reading I would take as incorrect adjustment of the AFM....

...except the ISS being wound all the way in leads me to wonder if theres an air leak somewhere?! Could this be feasible?(If I turn the screw at all, the engine revs rise drastically) I also noticed today that if I remove the vacuum advance pipe off at tick over there is no vacuum. Is this a commen problem? Ive yet to strip the throttle body to see whats going on inside. (Although it has been cleaned inside - just not be me - so maybe something is blocking it?) Also I noticed that the throttle spindle isnt sitting on the throttle stop. If I turn it back by hand I can just make it close, engine revs drop to a decent level too...but this could also be sealing up an air leak with me pushing on it perhaps - like a worn spindle bearing??