• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
MadeinWigan

1.4 Gtx Cutting Out

MadeinWigan

My Gtx starts fine and idles well but if left to idle it will just cut out. It then won't start and you can hear that the fuel pump isn't priming. After leaving it for a bit and trying again you can hear the fuel pump working and the car starts brilliantly.

Any ideas what could be causing it to do that, I've not got a clue!

Thanks

Gaz205

Have you looked at the pump to make sure all the connectors are fitted well. I'm no expert and please don't take this the wrong way but if you check your pump is getting a good power supply could the pump just be ready for replacement?

At least you've more than likely narrowed it down to the pump

MadeinWigan

Thanks. I've had a look at the pump and had a wiggle but it doesn't seem to make a difference. It seems that it kicks back into life after it's left for a bit rather than a bad connection if that makes sense.

Gaz205

So it's clearly delivering the correct pressure but intermittently, could you get a reading of the power being delivered to it? Could it be s*ite fuel that's running through it? A pressure test might help and if that's strong it's gonna be a fault inside the pump.

Might be worth checking all your fuel lines while you're there

MadeinWigan

Not sure. It seems very consistent. It will start fine, run normally for a minute or two and then just die. Try and start it again and you can hear that the fuel pump isn't priming.

After leaving it again, sometimes I wiggle the connector on the fuel pump during this time, but not every time, it fires up and runs normally but the yellow engine light comes on.

Maybe a safety shut down?

MadeinWigan