• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Tim 892

Mi16 Or Gti6 Conversion

Tim 892

Hi all

I want to do an engine conversion on my 1.6 gti (xu5ja). Just not sure which conversion to go for Mi16 or gti6 :wacko:

I'm new to this and want to do the conversion myself so ease of conversion does come into it a touch, this is the reason why I'm leaning towards the Mi16 but some people I have spoke to don't like this engine due to the way the power is delivered. Again I think this is down to personal driving style and taste.

If anyone with some experience of these conversions could give me some feedback it would be very helpful!!! :D

Thanks people.

welshpug

much of a muchness in the amount of work required to fit one, both need wiring and exhaust manifold mods, there's coolant hoses available off the shelf for both.

more likely to find a healthy gti6 these days than an MI16, though you'll pay a bit more for a decent one.

gti6 engine management is far superior, as is its oil control.

iron block is a little heavier, but nothing major in the grand scheme of things

harryskid

Gti6 is the popular one at the moment. Which is better well i have a gti6 but have never driven an mi. They will all argue about which is best on here! :lol:

dcc

if you fit a gti6 you'll love the way the engine behaves, it is quite lazy through the revs though.

Mi16 feels frantic and eager to rev, mostly due to the twin butterfly body though, choice of 2, id have a healthy Mi :)

Anthony

There was a big "what engine do you prefer" thread a while back, started by Maxi IIRC