• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
jim21070

Be3 Gearbox Strip And Rebuild

jim21070

For a long while now my GTi has suffered from duff synchromnesh on 3rd and 4th gear. I've got to strip and rebuild my gearbox but having never done it before I wanted to practice on a scrap 'box first.

Jackherer very kindly gave me such a box and on the weblink below is the fruit of my efforts in stripping a BE3 gearbox and documenting, with pictures, how to do it.

I have developed a way around some problems which may horrify Miles and Co. :wub:

I have posted it on my own website and please excuse the quality. I'm an engineer, not a web desigener!!!

I trust it may prove useful and any comments are more than welcome...

The web server is on the uplink side of my ADSL and may be a bit slow at times

BE3 Gearbox Strip

jackherer

Nice one :wub:

Miles

LOL, 5/8 Whit socket, locking gear's,

Just a couple of thing's that I tend to do,

You don't need to remove the roll pin in the main selector, the fork's come out fine with it in, just need to take off the clutch release bearing carrier in the bell housing, this give's enough movement on the shafts to get them out.

If you don;t have a puller for the input shaft you can tap the shaft on a lead weight and the weight of the gear's pushes the bearing off

Peetypug

you are a bloody life saver :wub:

i nearly threw my gear box across the garage today trying to strip it

thanks jim a big thumbs up :lol::P

pug_ham

Nice one Jim, I'm part way through stripping a box to swap fourth, fifth & reverse gears so this will proove added assistance. :)

Graham.

jim21070