• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
MerlinGTI

El Cheapo Ignition Amps (gsf)

MerlinGTI

Hello

Fitted a HUCO Ignition amp today, Brand new from GSF. Fitted it in my lunch break (im a auto fitter by trade so done propley! paste etc...), didnt have time to test drive. Home time comes, 20 mile drive ahead and the car miss fired coughed and spluttered all the way home. What a pile of s*it.

I did read one guy on here had simular problems but the tight ass in me decided he must of been unlucky. Stump up the extra (almost double) for a genuine BOSCH item guys :wacko:

Ive put the old one back on with a clean up and some paste and its good as gold now.

Super Josh
Ive put the old one back on with a clean up and some paste and its good as gold now.

When ever I have had problems with ignition amps before, it has always been because the paste has dried out. New tube of heatsink compound from somewhere like Maplins for a few quid. And it's all sorted. :rolleyes:

Josh

Stu

I had the EXACT same thing with mine, and at the time i too thought that the people who had bad results were unlucky!

Got hold of a 2nd hand bosch unit and everything has been rosey ever since!

Miles

Very odd as I never use paste and have never had problems, I have seen loads of Pattern amps give problems and not even work out of the bag thou so I can see your point that using the Bosch ones is worth while

DamirGTI

"Intermotor" makes massive crap ignition amp's <_< and they are the most common "aftermarket replacement" in ordinary car part store (well at least over here ..) ...

Also i've been reading somewhere (can't remember where , was some 205 GTi book .. but not Haynes.) that Ducellier amp and Bosch coil combo can cause misfiring :)